Winners Revealed Last Night at the 2018 Amateur MMA Awards

The International Mixed Martial Arts Federation (IMMAF) and World Mixed Martial Arts Association (WMMAA) hosted their inaugural 2018 Amateur MMA Awards last night (November 15) at the ART Rotana Hotel & Resort in Manama during the 2018 IMMAF-WMMAA Unified World Championships.

Winners of the awards were revealed, as elected from nominees by either public or member vote; or in the case of officials as appointed by Head Officials, Marc Goddard (Best Official Award) and Joe Clifford (Best Cutman). Other awards included the MyNextMatch Award of Excellence and IMMAF-WMMAA’s Lifetime Achievement and Hall of Fame accolades. All category winners are listed below.

The invitation only, black-tie awards dinner was hosted by recent UFC competitor and original IMMAF 2 x gold medallist, Jose ‘Shorty’ Torres, alongside British MMA journalist and MyNextMatch Communications Officer, Andreas Georgiou. The evening was attended by IMMAF, WMMAA and Bahrain MMA federation delegates, national federation presidents, award nominees and special guests.

Special thanks goes to company CEOs and Presidents who attended to present their sponsored awards Shoaib Malik of Dar Al Teeb | House of Fragrance, Jahangir Riaz of Green Hill, George Dyer of SAFEJAWZ and Oner Avara of

Special thanks goes also to event sponsors BMMI and Four Square.


Hall of Fame, Class of 2018:
IMMAF Founders: George Sallfeldt & August Wallén
WMMAA Founders: Vadim Finkelchtein & Fedor Emelianenko.

Team of the Year:

Officials of the Year:
Clemens Werner (GEMMAF – Germany)
Maria Makhmutova (Russian MMA Union – Russia)

Cutman of the Year:
Angelo Tarantini (FIGMMA – Italy)

SAFEJAWZ Golden Mouthguard:
Janika Antinmaa (Finland)

MyNextMatch Award of Excellence

Mikhail Mazur (WMMAA)
Federacion de Artes Marciales Mixtas Mexico

Green Hill Performance of the Year Award
Jenni Kivioja (Finland)
for her head kick victory over Jessica Reis at the 2018 IMMAF European Championships

Host Federation of the Year
Bahrain Mixed Martial Arts Federation

Changing Lives Through MMA
Danny Corr (Ulster Amateur MMA Association – N. Ireland)

Dar Al Teeb | House of Fragrance Best Female Athlete
Anna Astvik (Sweden)

Dar Al Teeb | House of Fragrance Best Male Athlete
Irman Smajic (Sweden)

Lifetime Achievement Award
IMMAF President Kerrith Brown
WMMAA President Vadim Finkelchtein

IMMAF officials on the red carpet
IMMAF champion Joanne Doyle on the red carpet

The post Winners Revealed Last Night at the 2018 Amateur MMA Awards appeared first on IMMAF.

Comments are closed.